ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Huge Balloon Lollipops June 30, 2012

I love this idea!  You have just about everything you need at home to complete this project.  The only supply I had to purchase was cellophane which cost me $4.50.  I already had yarn, balloons, and paint!  Save cardboard wrapping paper rolls for this awesome decoration.

 

My daughter helped paint the wrapping paper tubes, so it was a fun project for us to do together.  I plan to line my front walkway with these lollipops for Sophie’s Candyland birthday party.  I want to make more, but I have to locate more wrapping paper tubes!

 

Supplies:

1.)  Cardboard wrapping paper tubes.

2.)  Large foam paintbrush.

3.)  White acrylic paint.

4.)  Yarn, string, or ribbon.

5.)  Scissors.

6.)  Balloons.

7.)  Clothespin.

8.)  Tape.

9.)  Cellophane.

 

Project Steps:

1.)  Paint the cardboard wrapping paper tubes with white acrylic paint.  Let dry and apply a second coat.

 

2.)  Cut ribbon or yarn to a length 6″ longer than the wrapping paper tube.

 

3.)  Tie one end of the yarn to the balloon where knotted.

4.)  Attach the other end of the yarn to the clothespin.

 

5.)  Drop the clothespin down the tube.

 

6.)  Pull the yarn tight and tape to the inside of the tube.

 

7.)  Cut off excess yarn.

8.)  Cut a piece of cellophane 3′ x 4′.

9.)  Wrap the cellophane around the balloon.

10.)  Tie a piece of yarn around the cellophane to attach to the tube/balloon.

 

Pinterest Pin: http://pinterest.com/pin/40391727878644487/

Project Link: http://go.tipjunkie.com/pa/943/www.parents.com/fun/birthdays/themes/candy/

Time:  It took me 45 minutes to paint 5 tubes (including 20 minutes drying time).  The remaining steps probably took 5-10 minutes per lollipop on average.

 

– Lisa

 

3 Responses to “Huge Balloon Lollipops”

  1. My kids would love these! Thanks!

  2. […] We decorated the front walkway and inside of the house with balloon lollipops. […]


Leave a comment