ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Apple Theme Birthday Party August 23, 2012

My daughter turned two last week!  To celebrate, we rented a lake house in Wisconsin for the weekend.  We invited our family to join in the celebration.  Molly loves apples, so I thought an apple themed birthday party would be cute and amazing.  She LOVED LOVED LOVED it!  I felt enormous amounts of joy each and every time she would point out an “apple” at the party.  I opted to soften up the colors of the party by replacing “red” with “pink”.

 

Each guest had a sign on their bedroom door welcoming them to the lake house.

 

I used the letters “TWO” as a centerpiece on the mantle.  I hung pink and green balloons and covered the mantle with streamers.  This was one of my favorite decorations of all!

 

 

I hung streamers from the light fixture – not the best picture, sorry!

 

 

I purchased paper lanterns and made them into apples.  I scattered them throughout the house.  Another one of my favorite decorations!  This idea was inspired by an “apple of our eye party” I found on Pinterest.  You should check out the link, the apple of our eye party was amazing!

 

 

Here is the drink station.

 

The drink station included mason jars with chalkboard contact paper stickers.  I placed a piece of chalk next to the jars for our guests to label their glasses.  I lined the top of the mason jars with scrapbook paper to match the theme.

 

Duct tape comes in so many colorful and fun patterns these days.  Pinterest inspired my duct tape embellished water bottles.  I’ve always wanted to decorate my water bottles with the adorable paper printables you can purchase on Etsy, etc.  I never pulled the trigger because I figured once the water bottles were placed in a cooler with ice, the wrapper would get ruined.  The great thing about using duct tape is that it can get wet and still look cute!

 

Check out the apple jack garland!  My five year old helped me put this together.  We used pipe cleaners to string the apple jacks (much easier than yarn or string).  We tied the pipe cleaners together to make a long garland!

 

I filled clear vases with green apples, tied ribbon around the vase, and added some white flowers to the top.  I found this idea on Pinterest.

 

I covered the tables with white tableclothes.  I used 12 x 12 pieces of pink checker scrapbook paper for the place mats.  I completed the place setting with a green paper plate and green napkins filled with pink plasticware secured by a polka dot ribbon.

 

I tied the favors to the back of the chairs.  The favor included an apple peck basket filled with apple chips, apple hand soap, apple candy, and an apple cake pop.  This idea was inspired (AGAIN) by the  “apple of our eye party” I found on Pinterest.

 

I served a taco buffet for dinner.  We had beef and chicken tacos, guacamole, rice, etc.  It was delicious.  I even used a Pinterest recipe for crockpot chicken tacos.  They turned out really great.  I can’t wait to make them again!  Notice the tent labels I created for all the food items!

 

The dessert table was the highlight of the party.  I prepared a crazy amount of sweets for this party.  We had apple cupcakes, apple cake pops, apple pie, apple jacks in pails, and apple cookies!

 

We ended the party with gifts!

 

This is by far my favorite party I’ve ever planned.  Now I’m on to planning my other daughter’s Candyland party!  Do I dare top the apple party?  I will try!

 

 

One Response to “Apple Theme Birthday Party”

  1. ipinterest Says:

    great work! Turned out so cute 🙂


Leave a Reply

