ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Rainbow Lollipop Cookies August 6, 2012

I was attracted to this recipe because I thought these cookies would be perfect for my daughter’s Candyland 5th birthday party.  I thought I could make these cookies and bake them on sticks, so they would look like lollipops.

 

 

I’ve made this recipe two times.  The first time, I followed the recipe exactly.  I used the Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix (in a bag).  I had some issues with my first attempt.  First, the sugar cookie dough turned out too sticky for rolling, shaping, etc.  If you do follow the recipe, you will probably have to add some flour to get a better consistency.  Second, the picture on the recipe shows a beautiful good sized cookie.  If you follow the recipe, you will not have enough dough to yield 3 dozen cookies the size they picture.  Third, the cookies turned out thin.

 
I made these a second time with my go-to sugar cookie recipe.  It’s a recipe I got at a Wilton Cookie Blossom class.  I love this recipe because the dough doesn’t change shape when you bake it, it tastes good, you don’t have to refrigerate, and it is perfect for baking cookie blossoms (cookies on sticks). The dough made a huge difference the second time around.  These cookies turned great!  They would taste better with icing, but then you wouldn’t be able to see the pretty pinwheel shape.  I’m relieved that they turned out because they will be perfect for Sophie’s Candyland party next month!

 

Dough Separated into 5 Equal Sections

Wilton Food Colors – Chosen by the Kiddos

The power of food coloring!

My daughter helped me roll the dough …

Rolled into a log shape.

Ready to bake!

Finished Product! Don’t forget to let them cool!

 

Rainbow Cookie Recipehttp://www.soudersstudios.com/recipes/rainbow-pinwheel-cookies.php

Wilton Sugar Cookie Blossom Recipe http://www.food.com/recipe/wilton-cookie-blossom-sugar-cookies-82681

Pinterest Pin: http://pinterest.com/pin/40391727878911369/

Time:  1 hour+

Substitutions:  I substituted the Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix for homemade sugar cookie dough!

 

 

Leave a Reply

