ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Yellow Cake Homemade Cinnamon Rolls July 24, 2012

I just returned from a 10 day vacation in Florida.  I spent the time at my parent’s house with my kids, husband, siblings, niece, nephew, and parents.  My sister and I made these together; I thought that was cute considering I found the recipe from the Six Sisters’ website.  There is a lot of waiting time (for the dough to rise), but the recipe is rather simple and the results are heavenly!  The recipe yields 24 cinnamon rolls, (2) 9×13 pans.  It seems like a lot, but they were great leftover, too!  Next time, I’ll prepare the cinnamon rolls the night before, refrigerate, and take them out an hour before baking (to rise) and bake in the morning.  I’ll update this post once I try that out!

 

Dough – Ready to Rise

The Dough has Risen

The Dough Rolled Out – Not Exactly a Rectangle 🙂

Buttered and Sprinkled with Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

Rolled Up and Ready to Cut

Cinnamon Rolls Baked and Iced

Ready to Eat!

 

As you can see in my pictures above, I did not roll out the dough in a perfect rectangle.  I just quickly rolled it out.  Any tips on how to get a nice rectangle shape to the dough?  Thanks!

 

Pinterest Pinhttp://pinterest.com/pin/40391727878820554/

Recipehttp://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2012/07/cake-mix-cinnamon-rolls-recipe.html

Time:  10 minutes prep, 1.5-2 hours for the dough to rise, another 20 minutes prep, and 15 minutes bake time.

Substitutions:  The recipe yields 24 cinnamon rolls (12 in each pan).  We iced one of the pans with the cream cheese frosting when the rolls were still warm, so the icing would melt into the rolls.  We let the second pan cool completely and then iced them.  It was kind of an experiment to see which way tasted better.  I preferred the warm gooey cinnamon roll with melted icing, but they tasted great both ways!  🙂

 

 

4 Responses to “Yellow Cake Homemade Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Mmmmm, I wish I would have taken some to Orlando with me! I’m going to try this with the funfetti cake mix 🙂

  2. trkingmomoe Says:

    I am glad you enjoyed the Rays. I just live a few miles from Tampa.


Leave a Reply

