ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Sidewalk Chalk Favor – Wrapped Like Candy June 30, 2012

I’ve spent months pinning ideas for Sophie’s 5th birthday party.  Her birthday isn’t until September, but I’m getting started because there is lots of work to do.  Also, I have two vacations between now and then and my daughter Molly’s 2nd birthday party.

 

Sophie is having a  Candyland inspired birthday celebration.   We are going to have a sweets table.  The table will have jars filled with candy for the kids to take home as their party favor.  Well, the Candyland idea is fun and cute and the kids will love it.  And, I’m having fun planning it.  It’s the parents that I’m not so sure will love the aftermath (sugar crazed hyper kids).  So, when I can toss something in the candy jars that isn’t candy (such as the sidewalk chalk), I’m going for it!   I’ve also seen rock candy soap and candy stick erasers.

 

I was at Michaels yesterday and saw these adorable polka dot sidewalk chalks.  Since they looked like taffy, I grabbed 3 packages for $1 each.  Each package had 5 pieces of chalk, so each piece was 20 cents.  When I got home, I wrapped the sidewalk chalk in cellophane and secured the cellophane with double sided tape.  Then, I tied off the ends with curling ribbon.  To do all fifteen pieces, it took less than 20 minutes.  And, it cost me only $3 since I already had the cellophane and curling ribbon.

 

   

 

Pinterest Pin: xxx

Project: http://mightygirl.com/2010/02/15/1000-lovely-things-sidewalk-chalk-party-favors/

Substitutions:  I used cellophane instead of waxed paper.  Also, I tied the ends closed with curling ribbon.

Time:  20 minutes

 

– Lisa

 

One Response to “Sidewalk Chalk Favor – Wrapped Like Candy”

  1. […] could make look like candy so the table wasn’t entirely candy.  I purchased large pieces of polka dot decorated chalk (from Michaels).  I wrapped cellophane around the chalk and tied each end to look like a piece of […]


Leave a Reply

