ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Cake Batter Pancakes June 30, 2012

I’ve been wanting to try out this recipe for a long time, but I never seemed to have cake mix on hand.  Well, I’m making cake batter rice krispie treats tomorrow (stay tuned), so I happened to have a box of yellow cake, so today is the day!

 

 

The girls really enjoyed these pancakes. My 22 month old pretty much just licked off the glaze.  My 4-year-old opted for syrup.  I have to say that I thought these were amazing; however, for breakfast, the glaze made them too sweet for breakfast.  I think these cake batter pancakes are great for a special occasion, but not for a routine breakfast.  We will make them again, possibly for my daughter’s birthday.  Also, these would be an awesome dessert.  I’m thinking warm pancakes, with vanilla ice cream on top with the whipped cream and cherry on top!

 

Cake Batter Pancake Batter

Cake Batter Pancakes – Cooking ‘Em Up (with a toddler pulling on my legs)

 

Here are a few notes about the recipe.  The recipe says it makes 12 pancakes and I came close with 14.  I used 1 cup of milk (the recipe calls for 1-2 cups) and I thought my pancakes were to thick; however, 1 cup was probably right for the recipe since I yielded close to 12 pancakes.  Next time, I will add more milk to get a thinner pancake.  My glaze turned out way to thick.  I added more milk until the consistency was just right.

 

Powdered Sugar Glaze

 

This recipe has inspired me to try other new pancake recipes.  Maybe I’ll try another next week!

 

Pinterest Pin: xxx

Recipe: http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/01/cake-batter-pancakes/

Time:  30 minutes

Substitutions:  I added some whipped cream and a cherry on top!  Also, my glaze came out too thick, so I added more and more milk until it was just right!

 

– Lisa

 

4 Responses to “Cake Batter Pancakes”

  1. mydearbakes Says:

    This is gorgeous! You are amazing, wish I can do something like that too! =)

  2. trkingmomoe Says:

    I copied the recipe for the pan cakes down too. I haven’t tried them yet because when the grandkids are here I will. Cake mixes right now in my area is deaply discounted so I have stocked up on them and now need ideas on using them up. I have following and enjoying your creative ideas.

    • ipinnedit Says:

      I’m sure your grandkids will love these pancakes. I’m going to be posting about the cake batter rice krispie treats I made. I’ve also made cake batter truffles (they were awesome). Thanks for following!


Leave a Reply

