ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Days of the Week Kitchen Towels and Washclothes June 2, 2012

I cannot find the pin that inspired this project, so please let me know if it’s you so I can give you proper credit!

 

One thing I use a lot of is paper towels.  When I saw this pin, it motivated me to create these adorable day of the week rags and towels.  One thing that grosses me out is old smelly dish rags.  I thought these day of the week rags were the perfect idea to stay on track.  At the end of each day, I will toss them in the laundry and start fresh each morning.  Perfect!  No gross old rags laying around and I will certaintly use less paper towels!

 

Supplies:

1.)  Kitchen Rags – I purchased at Target

2.) Flour Sack Towels – I purchased mine at Target

3.) Heat ‘n Bond Iron On Adhesive – I purchased mine at JoAnn’s

4.) Fabric

5.)  Cricut Machine

6.)  Scissors

7.)  Sewing Machine and Thread

8.)  Iron

 

Steps:

1.)  Collect supplies.

 

2.)  Cut 14 (3″ x3″) squares of each the Heat ‘n Bond and fabric.

 

3.)  Follow instructions on Heat ‘n Bond package to adhere the fabric to the adhesive.

 

4.)  I used my Cricut machine to cut out the letters of the week.  I cut 2″ letters on the 3″x3″ squares.

 

5.)  I warmed up my iron and peeled off the back layer of the adhesive.

 

6.)  I ironed on the letters to my rags and towels.

 

 

7.)  For the last set, I used my sewing machine to sew on the letters.  I have to admit, I’m not 100% sold that these letters will stay on the rags and towels.  I will update this post in a month or so to let you know how they are holding up.  I remember reading in the original pin I saw that after a few washings, they start to look frayed and kind of have a vintage feel to them.  We will see …

 

And here they are in my kitchen drawer ready to go!

 

– Lisa

 

3 Responses to “Days of the Week Kitchen Towels and Washclothes”

  1. Heather Hansen Says:

    Did the letters stay on the towels?


Leave a Reply

