ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Duck Pretzel – Easter Treat March 30, 2012

I’m taking my daughter to a “Spring Tea” party hosted by one of her classmates.  I wanted to bring a cute treat to fit the theme that a bunch of 4 year old’s would love.  I saw this pin for these duck pretzels.  It looked like a cute and simple project and I had most of the ingredients already.  They turned out really cute!

 

What You’ll Need

1.)  Nonstick Mat – my Silpat worked great

2.) Twist Pretzels

3.) Candy Coating – I used white Wilton candy coats and used my oil based Wilton food coloring to color it yellow.

4.) Spoon

5.) Tick Tacs

6.) Something for the eyes – black icing OR edible marker OR black nonparelis

 

Steps

1.) Place pretzels out on a nonstick mat.

 

2.) Melt candy coating according to package directions.

 

3.) Color the candy coating (if you use white candy).  If you purchase yellow candy coats, you can save yourself a step.

 

4.) Spoon candy coating inside pretzels.

 

5.)  Before the candy sets, place tick tacs where the beak will go.

 

6.)  Let ducks set for 15-20 minutes.

 

7.) Use marker to dot an eye on the duck.  I tried my Wilton FoodWriter, but it didn’t work.  I ended up using the marker to make indentation where the eyes should be and piped in some black icing to make the eyes.  I decided I didn’t like that, so I used green sprinkles.  If I make these again, I will use some larger black ball nonparelis.

 

8.)  Eat and enjoy!

 

Recipehttp://www.thesugarbuzzpantry.com/BuzzoftheMonth/AprilBuzzoftheMonthBunnyandDuckPretzels.aspx

Pinterest Pinhttp://pinterest.com/pin/40391727878136803/

Substitutions:  I used black icing AND green sprinkles for the eyes instead of an edible marker.  Also, I used tic tacs instead of orange coated sunflower seeds.  I couldn’t find the sunflower seeds at the store.

Time: 30 minutes

NOTE:  One bag of Wilton Candy Melts made 50 duck pretzels.

 

3 Responses to “Duck Pretzel – Easter Treat”

  1. ipinterest Says:

    these turned out adorable!!!

  2. […] 1) An empty Tic Tac container with label removed (I already had one left over from my pretzel duck project). […]


Leave a Reply

