ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Restaurant Quality Filet Mignon Steaks! March 28, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Good Ideas — ipinnedit @ 4:37 am
Tags: , , , ,

I do enjoy a great steak with a glass of red wine!  The steak we make at home is good, but not restaurant quality!  I saw this pin that read “The secret to how steakhouses make their steaks so delicious. – it is true.  No more grilled steak.”  After reading this, I knew my husband would be uneasy and skeptical when I told him that I was (1) going to make him steak and (2) was not going to grill it.  I really really wanted to knock his socks off … and I did!

 

Okay, so these were the best steaks we’ve ever had (at home).  They were definitely restaurant quality!  I just don’t want to think of the mass quantities of calories I probably consumed.  Yup, I finished my entire steak!  My husband said “his world was turned upside down”, referring to the fact that the steaks were not grilled.  We will make these again.  You should make them, too!

 

Recipehttp://whitsamusebouche.com/2011/12/08/restaurant-style/

Pinterest Pinhttp://pinterest.com/pin/40391727878124202/

Substitutions:  My filet’s were more like 11 ounces each (Costco size), so I increased the baking time a bit.  Also, 4 teaspoons of salt seemed like too much for me, so I probably only did 2 teaspoons (which still seemed like a lot).   My meat thermometer read about 145 degrees when I took the steaks out and they turned out medium to medium rare.  They were perfect!

Time:  I prepared the butter ahead of time, which probably took 5 minutes.  It took me 6 minutes to cook on the stove top and I baked the filets for probably 10 minutes.

Quick Tip:  I didn’t use the entire log of seasoned butter.  I made broccoli for a side, and used some of the butter log to season the broccoli.  Yum!

 

 

Leave a Reply

