ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Organizing Digital Photo’s with Blurb Books March 28, 2012

I have tons and tons of digital photos.  A few years ago, my computer (and hard drive) crashed.  I lost all my digital photos (including all my digital wedding photos).  I was heartbroken and tried everything to retrieve them.  I still have that corrupted hard drive in my filing cabinet hoping some day I will be able to retrieve my collection.

 

After the loss of my digital photos, I purchased an external hard-drive.  Now, I backup my pictures onto my external drive very often.  I even have it on my daily to-do list so I don’t get out of the habit (which is so easy to do).  Also, I backup all my photos onto CD’s (or should I call them DVD’s now?) at the end of each year.  I save each photo with the date and a description (i.e. 09-27-2011 Sophie’s 4th Birthday).  I found it’s important to use the “0” at the beginning of the date, so the pictures are in chronological order.

 

Now that I have a system to back up my photos, I wanted to do something with them.  I’ve always had hopes and dreams of filling in all the blank scrapbooks I have laying around, but I never got around to it!  This is where Pinterst comes in.  I came across a pin that introduced me to blurb books.  I fell in love with this blurb book idea immediatly.  Basically, I will tell the story of my family each year with a new blurb book.  I’m starting with 2012 and if I can keep on it, I might even back track and do 2011.  At the end of the year, I will have a finished book with all my favorite photo’s from the year.  With a blurb book you can add photos, text, etc.  You can pick out the size of your book, the cover, font, text size, colors, etc.  I’m sure there are other options out there, but the blurb books seemed to be high quality and I stopped searching once I found this website.

 

Pinterest Pinhttp://pinterest.com/pin/40391727878124356/

Link to Idea from Pinterest:  http://jengrantmorris.blogspot.com/2012/01/organising-photographs.html – you have to check out Jen’s amazing post on photo organizing.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

