ipinnedit

My blog details all the fantastic "pins" I've actually made! Enjoy!

Serendipity Frozen Hot Chocolate January 27, 2012

I’ve heard of this famous frozen hot chocolate before.  I think I may have even seen it in a movie.  When I saw this on Pinterest, I wanted it then and there.  The only problem was that I’d broken my blender a few days before.  Sigh!

 

Blender Shopping:  I recently broke my old, non ice crushing blender.  So, first things first …  I had to buy the perfect blender that would make a good smoothie and actually crush the ice.  The recipe tutorial shows a Blendtec blender.  I quickly searched for it on amazon and found it for $380!!  Yikes!  I’m not sure I want to spend that kind of money on a blender.  So, my search continued.  I saw the Vitamix, too and that one was $500.  I read all the reviews and everyone says the Vitamix is worth the money, etc, etc.  I was sold for a split second and then my senses kicked it.  No way am I going to spend that kind of money on a blender.  So, I asked my friends on facebook for suggestions and I was recommended the Ninja.  It was $120 at Costco ($160 on amazon), so I got that one and felt like I got a good deal buying at Costco.

 

This recipe was easy and delicious.  This is a good recipe for kids.  They can pour in the milk and hot chocolate packets, sprinkle the chocolate chips, scoop on the whipped cream.  Not only did I find a good new recipe, but I really got two recipes.  The recipe tells you how to make your own whipped cream (I’ve never made my own before).  It was sooo easy and sooo delicious.  I think from now on I will always make my own whipped cream.  Recipe:  1 cup of heavy whipping cream, 2 T. of sugar and whip until it looks like whipped cream.  This recipe makes probably 8 servings of this delicious treat.  I had to dump out a bunch.  I actually considered calling my neighbor to see if she wanted the leftovers because it was so good I didn’t want to dump it.

 

BTW, the Ninja worked awesome!  I can’t wait to try more recipes with it!

 

Time:  15 minutes!  Quick recipe, but I used my blender and my mixer, so there was a bit to clean up.

Substitutions:  None.

Pinterest Pin:  http://pinterest.com/pin/40391727877778717/

Recipe:  http://picky-palate.com/2012/01/12/frozen-hot-chocolate-serendipity-style/

 

 

Leave a Reply

